Congratulations to pianists Charlotte Giraudeau of Calgary and Esther Zhu of Saskatoon!  Charlotte and Esther are this year’s co-recipients of the Ann Southam National Award – Senior Award!

Contemporary Showcase Calgary provides over $2000 in scholarships to students every year, through fees, donations, and sponsors. Every year, we also nominate students for consideration in the following ACNMP national award categories.
mary h.png

The Mary Hildebrand Memorial Award for Performance Excellence


Mary Hildebrand was a teacher, composer, and dedicated supporter of Contemporary Showcase Mississauga. This award has been established by Mary’s family.


Qualification: Each Contemporary Showcase Centre may submit one senior (Grade 9 and up) solo performance on the recommendation of the adjudicator.

Amount of Award: $500.00


This award is made possible by the family of Mary Hildebrand.

mary g.jpg

The Mary Gardiner Award of Performance Excellence


This award was established in 2010 to honour Mary Gardiner, an awarded composer, pianist, educator, mentor, great champion of Canadian music, and long-serving President of Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects.


Each centre may submit a senior candidate (Grade 9 and above) and a Junior candidate (up to and including Grade 8).


Qualification: The nominee must have participated for three years in the Contemporary Showcase festival at a high level of performance.


This award is made possible by memorial donations and the generosity of the Gardiner family and Eva Michalak.


The Anne Southam Award

This performance excellence award is established in memory of pioneering Canadian composer Ann Southam by the Southam family.  The award will recognize an outstanding performance of a work by a Canadian female composer.


Qualification: The nominee must have performed a work by a Canadian female composer.  Each centre may submit a Senior candidate (Grade 10 and above) and a Junior candidate (up to and including Grade 9).


Amount of Award:  Senior $1,000 & Junior $500


This award is made possible by Kip Southam.

jw schol.jpg

John Weinzweig Scholarship

To honour John Weinzweig, "the Dean of Canadian Composers," ACNMP is pleased to announce a scholarship for the performance of solo works by John Weinzweig or by a first or second generation Weinzweig student. The scholarship is funded by "John Weinzweig ONE HUNDRED YEARS 1913–2013".


There will be a junior (up to and including Grade 8) and a senior (Grade 9 and up) scholarship.


Qualification: Solo performances of any Weinzweig composition on the ACNMP syllabus (available from or a solo work listed on will be accepted.  Or a solo work by one of John Weinzweig’s first or second generation students, such as Murray Adaskin, John Beckwith, Norma Beecroft, Brian Cherney, Samuel Dolin, Harry Freedman, Srul Irving Glick, R. Murray Schafer, Harry Somers.

This scholarship is made possible by Daniel Weinzweig.