top of page

This year,
let's pay tribute
to our  founder, 

Roberta Stephen.

Calgary's Contemporary Showcase was founded in 1990 by composer 

Roberta Mae Stephen

(April 17th, 1931 - June 19th, 2021)

The festival has been held every single year since, bringing contemporary Canadian Classical music to thousands of students since its inception.

This year, let's make a special effort to showcase the music of Roberta Stephen, and celebrate her life in artistry

Contemporary Showcase Logo 3_edited.png
The Roberta Stephen Award.

The Association of Canadian Women Composers has started a scholarship in Roberta's honor called The Roberta Stephen Award, valued at $500 in 2021. The award offers support to a Canadian woman composer aged 36 or older for professional development such as further studies, conferences, or workshops, or composers’ festivals.

Contemporary Showcase Logo 3_edited_edit

As part of the Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects (ACNMP), Contemporary Showcase is hosted in centres around the nation, drawing on a wide range of sponsors to sponsor awards at the local and national levels. 

Contemporary Showcase is the only festival of its kind in that it is devoted entirely to music by Canadian composers. It is non-competitive in that no marks are awarded nor are there rankings given. All adjudications take place in a masterclass atmosphere designed to be supportive and informative.

Outstanding performers are further encouraged through scholarship recognition. Many scholarship recipients of the past festivals have gone on to make their mark in the music world. Notables include Jean Stillwell, Scott St. John, Measha Brueggergosman, Lara St. John, and Stewart Goodyear.


Contemporary Showcase continues to grow and be recognized as a vehicle for Canadian students to become performers, composers and to be a loyal listener in our future audiences. No other organization continues to promote the performance, composition and study of Canadian Contemporary Music.

Contemporary Showcase Logo 3_edited_edited.png



Karenfaye Shepherd-Carmichael


Untitled design (2).png

Melodie Archer

Gala Coordinator

Untitled design (2).png

Angela Quon


Untitled design (2).png

Katrina Thompson Fost

Piano Coordinator

Untitled design (2).png

Cathy Stephen

Treasurer, Strings Coordinator

Untitled design (2).png

Rachel Hop

Voice Coordinator

bottom of page